The Novice Foodie

Just eating real foods, lifting heavy things and learning about it along the way

2013 Part Two

Leave a comment

So here we are, July 1, halfway through 2013. How about those new year’s resolutions everyone made 6 months ago? Obviously at least one of mine fell off the wagon (cough blogging cough.) I’d say it all started falling apart in March, when I was more focused on eating to perform well in the Crossfit Open and road race series I was in (and battling a cold on top of it) than staying perfectly Paleo (and keeping up with posting about it). For whatever reason, I never really got totally back on track after that.

At this halfway point, I think it’s a perfect time for everyone to reevaluate and refocus on those resolutions we all made back in the December/January, and remember why we made them.  Before competition season derailed my record, I was really doing well. I remembered all of my medicines and vitamins, I was eating clean, drinking lots of water, keeping up on my training and even blogging once a week. I am a believer in cheat days for a sustainable diet, but I got to a point where I didn’t even want them anymore– my cravings were nearly nonexistent. I feel like that was a huge milestone, and it makes me that much more eager to get back on track and try to cross that line again.

Today I begin a Paleo challenge, and I’ll hold myself accountable by chronicling here anything useful that I stumble upon, and update my growing collection of recipes on my Pinterest board, pinned there done that.

Tonight, I am attempting Spaghetti Squash and tomato bake (minus the cheese) with some local tomatoes I picked up from the farmers market along with some chicken and then maybe some sweet potato brownies for dessert.

Here’s to re-committing to our goals for the rest of 2013!

 

*UPDATE: delicious success on both accounts:

Spaghetti Squash tomato bake

Spaghetti Squash tomato bake

Sweet Potato brownies

Sweet Potato brownies

Author: cpomiecko

I am an Ohio University graduate with a degree in magazine journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism and informational graphics/ publication design from the Scripps School of Visual Communications. I am also passionate about fitness and nutrition.

Leave a Reply

