The Novice Foodie

Just eating real foods, lifting heavy things and learning about it along the way

Detox Prep

Leave a comment

After a summer of anticipation, I am finally going to begin an 11-day dietary cleanse/detox. Developed by experts at Cleveland Yoga, this cleanse does not involve a magic lemonade or pills. The cleanse is simply real food, complete with a checklist and tons of recipes.

In preparation, I spent the weekend gorging myself on all things unhealthy. Fast food, pumpkin pie, soda and ice cream. Just to get it in my system before I got it out.

Then, I hit the grocery stores armed with my list and bought out their fresh produce and spice sections. Just filling my cart with the little plastic produce bags made me feel healthier already!

I noticed one thing–there was not one boxed item in my bags of groceries when I arrived home and spread them all over the table. Perhaps that says something about processed food. “Diet Rule One – Avoid boxed foods?”

In anticipation of a busy week ahead, I made vegetable soup with all fresh ingredients and edamame veggie dip, and marinated some raw veggies as well. All recipes were included with the information I got about the cleanse. After taste testing, it promises to be a tasty, healthy week!

Author: cpomiecko

I am an Ohio University graduate with a degree in magazine journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism and informational graphics/ publication design from the Scripps School of Visual Communications. I am also passionate about fitness and nutrition.

Leave a Reply

