The Novice Foodie

Just eating real foods, lifting heavy things and learning about it along the way

The Road to a Triathlon, Week 1

Leave a comment

In an attempt to alleviate my insatiable need for exercise, my friend and I have decided to embark on a journey to complete a sprint triathlon over the summer. I think it will challenge and motivate me in new ways, and definitely help me get in shape!

To prepare for this lofty goal, I have enrolled in a cycling class through Ohio University’s recreation center. My first introductory class was on Thursday. It was tough, but will definitely be great preparation for the biking portion of the triathlon. The worst part? My butt hurt really badly by the time class was over. The class is 45 minutes every Thursday for seven weeks…so hopefully all of this practice will get me used to sitting on a bike for that long!

In addition, I have finished 1 out of 3 sessions of personal training. So far, I have completed a body composition and fitness assessment, and a weight room circuit plan. It’s a great way for me to direct my time in the gym and get a more effective workout.

Finally, I will complete my first 5K race by the end of the quarter. Possibly two! The last leg of the triathlon measures out to be about 3 miles as well, so I think this will be good practice for that.

After school ends, I plan to set up a work out schedule involving swimming, running and biking outside. I will also incorporate the transitions involved with the triathlon, such as biking and running directly after.

For now, I am concentrating on getting my endurance up for the 5K by running on the treadmill and outside. Stay posted as I continue on my journey!

Author: cpomiecko

I am an Ohio University graduate with a degree in magazine journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism and informational graphics/ publication design from the Scripps School of Visual Communications. I am also passionate about fitness and nutrition.

Leave a comment